MPH Panama Practicum 2013: Hasta Luego, Panama!

Sherrita Cobbs

July 24, 2013
PANAMA 2013
Te amo Panama, que sin duda volver? a verte pronto. Ciao Panama! 

Panama Canal Museum

It was hard leaving Panama. The time that I spent in that beautiful country is an experience that has changed me forever. I have travelled to many international countries, but it is Panama that has stolen my heart. Or rather it is Panama that where a part of me will always remain. I felt a connection to this country and the people. It was surreal. I will miss the beautiful views of the Canal from my window…it was a site to see. I will miss my morning walks around the Ciudad del Saber. I will miss the fresh Panamanian chicha e pina in the morning. I grew so much as a person. A piece of my heart will forever remain in Panama. This global health experience has stretched me in directions that I never thought I could reach. I have been blessed with knowledge and skills about research, community participation research, qualitative data collection, data analysis, networking, relationship building…I mean the list goes on and on. In my opinion, Panama is no longer a 3rd world country. Panama is a developing nation on the rise.

Youth plays Queen Reina @ Altos de Cabuya

My experience in Panama is unmatched. I will always remember the rhythm of the tropical rains, the coolness of the tropical breeze, the saltiness of the sea air, and most importantly, I will miss the kindness and hospitality of the Panamanian people. I will miss the wonderful foods such as the Sancocho y patacones, ceviche de corvina, and etc. I will definitely be back Panama!

The HPV Clinic Group

It was a long a challenging process, but we did it. Thanks to Dr. Richardson, Rosa, Momma Estella, Lisa, Sharon, Gurjinder, Mariana, Dr. Calvo, Professor Lourdes de Alguero, Dr. Aurelio Rangel Flores and all the staff at 24 de Diciembre centro de salud.



About the MPH Panama Practicum

A group of University of Southern California graduate students are researching public health in Panama City, Panama, for a two-week international practicum, organized by the USC Master of Public Health (MPH) program. This post was excerpted from panama.usc.eduView all posts in this series »

