MPH Panama Practicum 2013: Time flies…

Valerie Le

July 17, 2013

…when you are having fun! Just one week ago we visited our site for the first time and now we are done with our deliverables and getting ready for our final presentation. Over the course of one week, my hearing health group had the opportunity to meet Dr. Stella Rowley and also work with the ladies of Foundacion Oir es Vivir. We were able to observe hearing health screenings at the hospital, orphanage, and school. Furthermore, we were given the opportunity to attend on conference on hearing health.

At first, the tasks that we need to accomplish seemed very daunting but our team always had a plan and stuck to our schedule. We got one thing done at a time and before we knew it, we were done with our deliverables. No doubt it was a lot of work, but I had a great experience. I feel I know so much more about hearing health now than I did before going on this trip. I also feel like two weeks was not enough to accomplish everything I wanted too on this trip. However, I made the most of my time here and hopefully the efforts I put forth in my work have meaningful results.


About the MPH Panama Practicum

A group of University of Southern California graduate students are researching public health in Panama City, Panama, for a two-week international practicum, organized by the USC Master of Public Health (MPH) program. This post was excerpted from panama.usc.eduView all posts in this series »
