Honduras– my true Wonderland!




Hola again amigos! It’s been a good two weeks since I came back to the states from Honduras, and it has taken about that long to recuperate from the total reverse culture shock of returning home!

I want to thank the USC Institute for Global Health again SO much for its help and support for my trip to Honduras this summer. I was conducting a research project at the eye clinic there, and in the meantime was able to see 20+ crucial, sight-restoring eye surgeries given to the poorest of the poor, went to different villages in Honduras setting up outreach brigade eye clinics, and learned so much about la vida catracha (the Honduran life).


Overall, this was an absolutely, mindbogglingly life-changing experience for me, and I will definitely apply what I learned there to the rest of my life and help save the world! No joke!

IN THE PHOTOS (clockwise from top left): Me with my colorful corn dolls; Entrance to the ZOE Eye Clinic; Me in scrubs ready to observe surgeries!; Alice in Wonderland 🙂

Here’s also a link to some more pictures I took to capture my life during my 2-month stint in Honduras. Feel free to browse through them when you’re bored and want to see Honduras– my true Wonderland! 😀 http://s853.photobucket.com/home/AliceKim_Honduras2010/allalbums

Just for reference, the “ZOE eye clinic” is the main eye clinic I was stationed at, and it’s located in the capital city of Tegucigalpa. In the “Outreach brigades”, several volunteers from the clinic would hop into what we called a “safari mobile” (because it looked like it could belong in a safari tour) along with one or two licensed optometrists and provide free vision screenings and reading glasses to rural villages all around Honduras. Simply amazing work! 🙂

Thank you again, and I hope to update you all soon about the results of the Honduras Eye Disease Study! I will be meeting with my faculty advisor and the Doheny Eye Institute statistician to discuss our data this week. Exciting!

Hasta pronto~!

Alicia en el Pais de las Maravillas

(Alice in Wonderland)

