The PR Experience

Working to publicize Global Health Awareness Week was quite an experience, that was full of both successes as well as missteps. First off, all of the flyers came out looking brilliantly. This was a direct result of all of our hard-working designers (listed below) and our printer Sal (of Sal Aguilar Printing: http://tinyurl.com/y58m7dn). Our programs (designed by Mana Pirnia) were also amazing, and I’d like to thank her for her efforts during the past few months, despite being in medical school. Secondly, thank you to everyone on the PR staff and especially the coordinators Kelly and Minh, without whom everything would have fallen apart. As for missteps…On second though I won’t talk about them here, because no one wants to know that there is actually an old man behind the magnificent wizard (wizard of oz reference, just to clarify).

Now that the accolades are out of the way…The experience was quite educational. I learned how to use photoshop for the first time (although not very well, and I still don’t know how to play with the text). I learned that guerilla marketing is the funnest (i know funnest is not a real word Kelly Leech) thing ever, and although I’m not sure, I think the enormous turnout at our events was due to our bathroom advertising where the greatest amount of undivided attention can be attained. I also learned that organizing things is pretty difficult and complex. Behind every seamless and beautiful conference, convention, symposium, or Global Health Awareness Week that we attend, there are thousands of man hours required to plan, manage, and actualize every little thing.
To finish this posting, I would like to give a shout out to Soccer in the Streets this weekend (Sunday, 1-5pm at Huntington Park), and I’d like to thank everyone again whom I worked with. In the end, the experience was pretty awesome, and hopefully our GHAW influenced people to devote their efforts in some way to help solve the bigger problems of our world :).
Designers to thank:
Joey Leech
Christian Rojaas
