Gender and Development in Honduras

Hola from Honduras! I just landed here in the capital city, Tegucigalpa, and I’m about to head over to a friend’s place for Christmas dinner, but I thought I’d give a quick introduction. My name is Stacey Chiu and I’m a junior at USC majoring in Sociology and minoring in Public Health. I’m currently working on my undergraduate thesis, a transnational comparative study of the differences in the gendered division of household labor in Honduran families and Honduran immigrant families living in Southern California. I’m also developing a gender component that will be added to existing Global Brigade (GB) programs.

What is Global Brigades?

“Global Brigades is the world’s largest student-led global health and sustainable development organization. Comprised of secular, international service programs, we mobilize student volunteers and professionals to empower communities in developing countries with programs that improve quality of life while respecting local culture.
Between 2008 and 2009, more than 4,000 volunteers from 110 university chapters in the U.S., Canada, U.K. and Ireland traveled to provide health and economic development solutions to more than 50,000 beneficiaries through our teams in Panama and Honduras. “

This winter break, my GB partner and I will be conducting preliminary research to get a better sense of the gender heirarchy and power structures within the rural communities that GB works in. After doing much research on gender programs, we’ve realized that there is no “one size fits all” model. Rather, programs are only effective if they take into account the local culture and current conditions in the area.

Ok, well my ride is here so I have to go. Happy Holidays!!
